It’s All About Me, OK!

Ok, I love surveys. Yes I am that type of girl, self-analytical and in tune with my emotions (see pensive photo). I am not annoying, I promise! Plus, I know you are just dying to understand my ultra-complex psyche on a deeper level.
1. Would you rather be an Olympic athlete or win American Idol?

I would hands down choose being an Olympic Athlete for so many reasons. I would love to be that caliber of athletic. We all want the body of Lindsay Jacobelli (fierce first lady of snowboarding) with Michael Phelps’ diet. Plus, I am pretty sure my face would get to be on some box of cereal, which is a big life goal of mine. Sarah Buchanan Wheaties, heck yes!

2. If you could live in any US city, which would it be?

While I am very happy living in New York City, where the pace of life is so quick I absolutely cannot seem to sit still, I think in a different time in my life I could really get down with Charleston, SC. The scenery, the ocean, the people, the food, the shopping, the architecture….the food.

3. What was the first blog you ever read?

Upon starting NYU in 2008, I found myself trolling The Sartorialist for style inspiration. It has the reverse effect. I realized I could never dress that cool, did not have a knack for thrift store shopping, and was without the closet of a fashion icon to raid, so I gave up and got comfortable just wearing what I wear. I still dream under my alter-ego fashionista supreme. Her name is Shayra and she wears leopard print without looking trashy. She uses the word “piece” to describe her blouses.

Now I am an avid reader of Serious Eats, Joy the Baker, Peas and Thankyou, and The Man Repeller, to name a few.

4. Would you rather bungee jump or sky dive?

Sky dive. I don’t like whiplash, or myself and a life-size rubber band getting intimate.

5. What was your favorite CD in 7th grade?

I was really into Led Zepplin “Stairway to Heaven” back then. I thought I was so alternative. Ironically I wore a lot of baby blue and light pink and had multi-colored braces. I was a walking mix-up.

6. What is your favorite movie?

Lost in Translation. I love the way Coppola sees the world. I love Bill Murray. I am dying to go to Tokyo.

7. Mac or PC?

Mac and I ain’t never going back.

8. If you could fly anywhere in the world, free of cost, where would you go?

South Africa-currently writing a senior thesis on anti-apartheid movements in South Africa which has led to many late-night google image searches. It’s gorgeous, and so rich in culture.

9. Who was your first kiss?

Jack Smodick, when I was in the 9th grade- We were in a room full of friends who, of course, instigated the kiss, and then watched us with added commentary. Shortly thereafter I was forced to kiss my other friend, Alex, who  was and still is a female. Talk about killing two birds with one stone, right?!

10. Sandwich or salad?

No lies, I am a salad girl…but we aren’t talking dinky little spinach leaves and maybe a raisin. I think I prefer the limitless nature of a salad. It’s a free-for-all of toppings with no pesky bread to hinder my hunger.

11. Country music or rap?

Oh man….I should say country as a Nashville girl, but I think I must go rap. Now I am a picky rap listener. It has to have a story, a great beat, and preferably a non-rap chorus.

Now I nominate Laura of @Sprint2TheTable

Leave a Reply

