Dip It Real Good

Do you ever have those kinds of weekends where all you seem to do is snack? Forget the whole three meals a day business the rest of the world operates around. Throw routine out the door. Pull on the sweatpants with the elastic waistbands, pop in Titanic or some other 3+ hours sage of the ages, and get ready for a real arm workout. I’m talking about hand in bowl to mouth repeat drills Homer Simpson style, y’all!

O.K. that was a tad dramatic. I didn’t snack my weekend away. In fact, I was pretty busy as referenced by

1. Honeymoon Booked

2. Bacon party

3. Hard Sunday Run

but in between all of that jazz, I did sneak in some snack-centric recipes I’d been dying to whip up for ages now. Recipe tasting obviously followed.

Cookie Dough Dip

This one has had me drooling since first read. I, like so many others, am a cookie-dough fiend. In fact, I’d say eating the raw stuff is the reason why I bake. I’d rather stuff my face full of dough than eat the finished product, and that is usually exactly what I do. Chalk it up to my impatience, I guess, but there is something utterly irresistible about cookie dough. It;s creamy, and rich, and full of flavor, plus those little chocolate bites are just delightful.

Chocolate-Covered Katie’s recipe is a god-send. Now I can eat cookie dough and not worry about my thighs turning into what I am consuming. Dough tastes good but it’s not quite the consistency of leg I aim for.

You see, this is one of those sneaky recipes–you know, the kind that taste naughty, the ones that have you saying, “I am so bad” as you go back for seconds. ┬áThis recipe is, in reality, ever so nice. At its core, this doughy dip is just a bunch of pureed chick peas with a some dates thrown in for sweetness au-natural, and a scoop of natural peanut butter because chickpeas just aren’t protein enough. This dip may well be a super food. This dip is also super good. You won’t even realize it’s devoid of trans-fats and oils and shortenings and sugar. You’ll just keep eating it. And you should!

Needless to say, Chris and I polished off a nice little container of our non-dessert dessert over the course of the weekend prompting me to whip up dip #2, of the non-faux dessert persuasion, but still starring the ever-popular chickpea.

Pizza Hummus

As if plain hummus wasn’t good enough, let’s go ahead and throw in the pizza qualifier, just for fun. What an easy bake, too. All you need is a can of chickpeas, some basil,a little salt, a little pepper, a little tomato sauce (I used store-bought marinara) and 1 tablespoon olive oil. Blend and voila. Pizza Hummus, don’t mind if I do.

 

2 thoughts on “Dip It Real Good

  1. “Don’t mind if I do” either. These were the best descriptions of your concoctions. I could taste them all the way down.

Leave a Reply

