Stand Aside, Chef

Normally I am the chief in the kitchen. Slap on a chef’s hat and call me by my name. Watch me chop, whisk, dice, and cream with confidence. Chef salute.

Ok I wax poetic there, I am hardly a pro. I have more spills than a kindergartener, and I can’t seem to ever stick to a recipe. I’m a notorious double-dipper and cake batter burglar and I love to see just how many bowls I can dirty making tomato soup. I’m a mess, plain and simple.

For my birthday, Chris took over as head chef, head personal chef to be exact. My task was to find him a recipe then sit back and watch the magic unfold. So that last part didn’t go quite the way he expected, as my fingers were just itching to get in there and create, but he tried his best to be el capitan. I’m just bull-headed and bossy. It was my birthday.

I chose a pumpkin chocolate chip cookie pie for this year’s hooray. The recipe came from this little lady and was, like all of her recipes, simple and straightforward. Of course sous-chef me made a few tweaks which I will not below, but the basics we took straight from her pages.

Chris sang me an appropriate little song and I made more like 22 wishes. Then we dug right in. The cookie cake was very dense and moist, with an almost unbaked center quality. The banana and brown sugar flavors sang through loudly, enhanced by the miniature chocolate chips embedded in every bite. We couldn’t really taste any pumpkin but I suspect we have the gourd to thank for the gooey consistency which made this treat heavily addictive. This was served perfectly, with a glass of milk and a mug of coffee, next to a person I love who never judges me for taking seconds (or thirds).

Chocolate Banana Pumpkin Pie Cookie

  • 2 cans garbanzos (drained and rinsed)
  • almost 1 cup quick oats
  • 1/4 cup + 1 T pureed pumpkin
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp cinnamon sugar mixture
  • 3 T canola oil
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 mashed very ripe banana
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Here’s the best part, the directions:

Blend all of the above ingredients in a food processor or blender until consistency is goopy and uniform throughout. Mix in the chocolate chips and pour into one to two (depending on size) greased pans. Bake at 350 for 32-35 minutes. Let sit for at least ten minutes to set. Serve with a big glass of milk or topped with some whipped cream and ice cream. Or serve with all three and pat yourself on the back for going all out.

Leave a Reply

