Tastes Good Alone

Alone is how I find myself on a Friday night.

So I do the natural thing. I eat a spoonful of peanut butter straight from the jar standing over the sink then put on my pajamas and take a three hour nap.

At 8pm I wake up. I make a green machine smoothie, a baked sweet potato, and slice some fruit. I eat somewhere between standing over the sink and laying horizontal on my
bed with the tv cranked way up.

I think I fall asleep again.

I come to. I want dessert. I want to bake dessert. Cookie time.

Dessert takes good even alone.

Easy Oatmeal Cookies
[adapted from Joy of Baking]

1 stick melted butter
1 cup flour
1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 cup agave syrup (alternatively you can add another 1/2 cup sugar)
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1 egg
3 cups rolled oats.

Mix dry ingredients together in a medium bowl. Add in melted butter and stir to blend. Crack egg and beat into batter. Last stir in oats cup by cup. This will create a thick and almost dry batter. This is good. Spoon onto greased baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 10 to 12 minutes until lightly golden brown and fragrant. Enjoy warm with a glass of milk.

One thought on “Tastes Good Alone

Leave a Reply

