Best.

You know that saying “less is more”? Yeah, I know it too, but I disagree completely.

Let me put it into context for you: Thursdays are my week day off. Usually this means I stay up until midnight Wednesday evening (I know I am crazy!) and wake up to no alarm. It’s a glorious little routine I’ve got going. This morning was no different. I slept until 10, made a green smoothie, and caught up on blogs until noon when I high-tailed it down to Tribeca for a SoulCycle class and video shoot with Melanie G. The workout was bananas and I left completely exhausted and smiling, the effect of any SoulCycle workout.

I scrambled back uptown for a staff meeting where I enjoyed an array of delicious treats including bites of every flavor of Levain Bakery cookies. I wasn’t stuffed but I was certainly not hungry. Back at home I read a bit, caught up on email, cleaned, and then the clock stuck 7pm. Instead of putting on my pj’s I ran back down to W77 SoulCycle for another class, a Summer Heat Wave ride with the lovely little Elianna.

Blood. Sweat.Tears. Amazing workout #2 of the day, I left exhausted and smiling, as per usual.

I arrived home to find a sweet husband and a lovely plate of food waiting for me. And then instead of hitting the hay I baked these chocolate chip cookies that I had been waiting to bake for months ( spoiler alert: the recipe calls for a full 24 to 48 hours of dough refrigeration, talk about patience).

 

2 workouts, 2 desserts. A double dose of a damn good day. I pedal that bike so that I can enjoy every single bite with nothing held back. I am of the persuasion that you only get on life to live and I am committed to milking the one I have got.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies in the World Recipe

Ingredients 
1 pound unsalted butter
1 3/4 cups granulated sugar
2 1/4 cups packed light-brown sugar
4 large eggs
3 cups plus 2 tablespoons pastry flour
3 cups bread flour
1 tablespoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons baking soda
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
2 pounds bittersweet chocolate, coarsely chopped

Directions
In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream together butter and sugars.
Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.
Reduce speed to low and add both flours, baking powder, baking soda, vanilla, and chocolate; mix until well combined.
Chill for 24 to
Using a 4-ounce scoop for larger cookies or a 1-ounce scoop for smaller cookies, scoop cookie dough onto prepared baking sheets, about 2 inches apart.
Bake until lightly browned, but still soft, about 20 minutes for larger cookies and about 15 minutes for smaller cookies.
– Cool slightly on baking sheets before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

