The Main Event

Ok normally I am a dessert is my favorite course kind of gal. What can I say, this one has a sweet tooth; at times it seems like the only tooth I’ve got.

But last week during my dinner ay Candle, the main course stole the show. 100% vegan. Ok I will admit it, I have toyed around with the idea of going animal product free more than once. I even lasted 14 whole days last August until I got so wrapped up in the need for an ice cream cone that I caved. There are definitely days I eat vegan and days I stray far far away. That being said whenever a restaurant that boasts this characteristic is on the books fora visit I get excited. I mean, it takes immense skill to cook food sans animal anything that tastes better than the majority of foods I’ve eaten in my life.

Candle succeeded and then some. I wasn’t even all that hungry and I finished this massive ┬áplate. My fork was a magnet to the flavor. Hook line and sinker, give me more. The creamy luscious mac and cheese, the succulent barbecued seitan, the heart chili, and the salty spicy corn, I mean who could resist.

It’s funny but it’s true; this Southern gal had a damn near perfect replica of the food she grew up on at a restaurant that used none of the products the South is known for. I felt more at home during the course of this meal than I have since my last visit. And believe me, Nashville isn’t exactly teeming with vegan hot spots. Those tastes, though, well they brought me back.

 

One thought on “The Main Event

Leave a Reply

