Guess Whose Coming To Dinner?

Tonight, Chris and I set out for a dinner party of sorts, hosted by my second cousin at his lovely and cozy Upper West Side apartment. Normally, we attend his classy shindigs empty-handed and hungry. Yes, we are those guests….

Hark! A slight change in the program this evening. I am in charge of dessert for a group of 6 adults with no dietary restrictions so to speak of. Oh, the possibilities, right?!

It must be made known that I let little things worry me. I have spent the last week debating what to prepare. Something home-made? Something bakery bought? Christmas inspired? Tried and true? Simple? Over the top? Indulgent? Holistic? The list has ping-ponged its way across the net too may times to count. At one point I even thought, screw it, I;m just gonna’ buy chocolate bars and candy canes and say Ho! Ho! Ho! Who can argue with that?

Of course, panic can be controlled. It’s all a matter of conceptualization. I could worry myself sick over my personal choice and baking prowess, or I could be excited by the opportunity to take to the kitchen for more than just myself; if it fails, so be it-if it triumphs, all the better.

I have chosen the road less traveled, for me anyway. I have created happily, not a drop of sweat shed nary a tear did fall. Using bits and pieces of recipes pulled from my favorite web sites, thanks Olivia Rae and Smitten Kitchen, and the ingredients I have on hand, a masterpiece has been born…[I hope, check back later as I can’t sample this one before it is served].

Tonight I present to you baked pumpkin spice pudding garnished with vanilla cinnamon whipped cream.

photo courtesy of smitten kitchen

It’s light, it’s textural, it’s fragrant, it’s seasonal, it’s almost healthy. It is all that a dessert should be and more. It is filled with love…ok and maybe just one bead of sweat, because well, it’s me that’s cooking….

Ingredients:

can of pumpkin puree, pinch of salt, 1/3 cup sugar, pumpkin pie spice, crushed ginger, 1 cup greek yogurt, 1/2 cup half and half, 1 egg and 1 egg white

1. mix pumpkin with dry ingredients over a low heat

2. add wet ingredients and stir over low heat for 4 minutes.

3. transfer to casserole dish and bake at 350 for 40 minutes.

4. let cool and garnish with whipped cream and spice cookie crumble

Leave a Reply

