Make Ahead Miracle

Every now and again, I decide to peek at my planner for a glimpse of the week ahead. Every now and again this little glimpse gives me whip-lash. Meetings, due dates, jobs, and events litter the pages and I am left wondering exactly how I will fit it all in! It’s frightening and exciting at once, and if there is one thing I know for certain about weeks like this, it is that they fly by.

Enter make ahead of time lunches-the key to keeping your cool in the midst of a busy few days. While I always take at least a few minutes for a little me time when I am eating, sometimes I can’t be bothered to allocate more than a second to food preparation. The beauty of a make ahead lunch is its’ readiness and portability!

This week I decided to whip up my go-to curry salmon salad recipe, adapted from food blogger Kath of www.katheats.com. I like to serve it over a bed of crispy romaine, or with bowl of spinach. It tastes nice in a whole wheat tortilla, or on an english muffin. Paired with some tortilla chips or simple crackers even, this versatile main dish does the trick for the midday tummy grumbles, and it’s fun to play around with the ways in which you can present this easy meal.

Directions:

1 can of wild Alaskan salmon-drained

1 tbsp mustard

1 tbsp greek yogurt (or mayo)

1 tbsp lemon humus

sliced and diced celery and bell pepper

sliced apple

salt and pepper to taste

sprinkle of curry pepper

Mix and chill. Serve as you wish. I am thinking for round number one, I’ll go sandwich style. Simple and delicious.

Leave a Reply

