Morocco’s Calling

Today has been one of those wet and soggy days that makes thoughts of the warm bed and footed pajamas almost inescapable. Sure, I was productive, running errands, meeting friends, taking a spin class, working on my thesis, but during each of these tasks you can bet I was dreaming of my bed, that and Moroccan Chickpea Stew.

 

 

I adapted this recipe from Cooking Light

Ingredients:

2 teaspoons olive oil

1 small diced yellow onion

2 garlic cloves

1 medium-sized sweet potato, cubed

1 butternut squash, cubed

1  15 oz can chickpeas, drained

15 oz vegetable broth

2 teaspoons cumin

1 teaspoon chili powder

1 tablespoon Tabasco

S + P to taste

pinch of nutmeg

pinch of cinnamon

Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add onion and sauté 6 minutes or until tender. Stir in following ingredients through broth. Bring to a boil. Cover, reduce heat, and simmer 20 minutes or until potato/squash is tender. Serve over brown rice or couscous. Top with cilantro and plain yogurt.

I am already looking forward to leftovers but I sure hope tomorrow brings some sunshine. I’d rather not have my head in the bed all day but you can bet I’ll be thinking of this stew!

 

Leave a Reply

