National Pancake Day, Oh Boy!

Happy National Pancake Day

That’s right all day long I have had those delicious pockets of pure golden bliss on my mind. After all if there was ever a day to carbo-load it was today, the start of Lent tomorrow….. the end of winter overhead….Tuesday (?!)

Give me a food-centered holiday and I will celebrate. This special day called for a boy party in the Buchanan-Layda household. Something about flapjacks day = lumberjack party = stacks of pancakes with syrup and butter and bacon = invite boys over.

I made traditional light and fluffy cakes for the boys using this recipe from Serious Eats. The result was 18 medium-sized orbs of sheer pancake perfection. I topped the cakes with butter of course, and blueberry syrup, which was bowl-lickin’ good (as in I literally licked the bowl).

For myself I made overnight oatmeal pancakes. I let my oats soak in kefir milk overnight and then mixed this with a little flour, cinnamon, 1 egg white, and brown sugar before grilling them up real quick. This recipe also came from Serious Eats but I used only 1/2 a tablespoon of brown sugar. Oh my, light and fluffy like the traditional brethren but a bit tangier and a little more substantial in the belly (i.e. it took less flapjacks to fill up). The blueberry syrup was the perfect sweet addition drizzled atop these delicious dough babies.

Blueberry Syrup

1. Measure two cups of frozen or fresh blueberries. Place in food processor or blender and pulse until coarsely chopped.

2. Over low heat, warm blueberries until they begin to bubble. Add in 1/2 cup maple syrup and 1/2 cup lemon juice. Stir over low heat for about 1 minute.

3. Serve warm atop a stack of fluffy cakes.

2 thoughts on “National Pancake Day, Oh Boy!

Leave a Reply

