In Vogue

Photo credit: Robyn Lee of Serious Eats

A couple of friends and myself were discussing the trendy foods of now a few days ago. It was interesting conversation that I have found myself revisiting since then. It’s totally true and totally funny how certain foods become in vogue. I like to imagine all the big-wig chefs around the globe getting together for a seasonal conference. Think of Thomas Keller and Bobby Flay sitting around a giant table spread thick. In between bites they throw out ideas.

“Hey Bobby, what about tofu?”

“No, that is too last year….I’m thinking barbecue, definitely barbeque.”

“Oh, good idea, yeah barbecue…and cauliflower.”

Ok I digress, let’s get back to the topic. What do you think this winter’s trend alert foods have been?

Our list includes:

beets

brussel sprouts

anything bacon-related, especially baked goods/desserts with bacon components

artisan juice blends

kale

It’s an overall healthy list for sure, which has led to my overhearing of quite a few funny foodie conversations during these last winter months. I have been in earshot of sentences I never thought I would hear from the most unlikely of suspects.

Two big guys walk into a subway car. Guy #1 says to guy # 2, “You will never guess what I had for dinner last night. It was astounding.”

Here’s the punch line:

A roasted beet salad tossed with lacuna kale and sautéed brussel sprouts.

Leave a Reply

