Powerful Stuff

I woke up a little later than usual this morning and did a thing I never do. I skipped breakfast in an effort to make it to my spin class in time. Ok, I’ll admit this is one of those “but the parts don’t equal the whole moments” but hey, I do my best.

I think this brunch made up for it. The best of both worlds, a teeming green smoothie and side of winter vegetables tossed in some balsamic dressing with a hard-boiled egg for good measure. I’ve been sneaking egg whites into my smoothies to amp up the protein. This meal was a bonafide protein power punch that left me feeling like the Energizer Bunny. Well it was either the smoothie or those two cups of coffee…..

Homage to Fall Smoothie Recipe

1 large banana

1 cup spinach

1/2 cup kefir

1/3 cup milk

2 tablespoons pumpkin puree

1 tablespoon fig butter

2 ice cubes

It’s a tasty medley that reminds me of Thanksgiving at Grandma’s house. It’s slightly nutty, slightly sweet, and with a little yogurt tang, like a less sweet pumpkin pie.

 

Leave a Reply

