I Wish I Were

I said it before and I’ll say it again, if I were to die and return reincarnated of the edible variety, I’ll choose the dumpling route.There is nothing more aesthetically pleasing the round proportions of this ubiquitous Chinatown staple. I guess the Chinese pastry chefs of the yester years and I have the same taste in shapes. I have always been a sucker for the chubby and the cyclical (like Russel from Up), something so inherently inviting housed in my personal golden ratio.

Of course the taste embedded in the ample innards of a just-out-of-the-steamer red bean bun is every bit as magical as its appearance, light and fluffy on the tongue with a pervading yet simple sweetness. Perfect for breakfast or lunch or an afternoon pick-me-up, perfect anytime.

Hambone loves buns too!

Leave a Reply

