Spring Inspires

Dare I say it, dare I say it:

Spring is here!

[no claps of thunder, lightning bolts, or rain clouds have appeared-I guess I didn’t jinx this glorious weather just yet!]

These sunny skies and higher temperatures have a perma-grin glued on my face. I just can’t help it. There is something so right about springtime in the city. I love the smell of the air, the blooming of the flowers, the green on the trees, and the sounds of babies laughing at the top of their lungs in the neighborhood playground. Like a drippy ice cream cone in the noon day sun, springtime makes me melt. I swear it’s like happy tears have taken up residence behind my big ole’ eyeballs for good. Each and every fresh sight and sound inspires a stream of salty happiness down my face. Perhaps I should retire the mascara until I adjust. I am filled with excitement. I am a pool [ha ha literally] of emotions. And I experience this every single year upon seasons changing. I also experience a little thing I like to call springtime dessert wanderlust. As the temperatures rise so too does my desire for fresh new treats. Good-bye to the hearty winter heavy grub. Hello sushi and pad thai and fresh sautéed veggies. Hello fruit salad and iced tea and sno-cones. Hello ice cream and sorbet and gelato. Springtime is for lightening up the density but dumping on the flavor.

Here are my top 5 favorite springtime desserts spread throughout this wonderful city. Put on your prettiest floral dress, a pair of stripy sandals, and grab a few friends. The weather is nice and there is always time for a little dessert.

1. Ladureemacarons-I can eat my weight in the raspberry flavor. The sticky sweet homemade jam filling gets all over my hands and face and makes me feel like I am 8 again.

2. The Soft Serve Fruit Co, a Union Square treatery, serves up all-natural, all-fruit sorbets, my go-to after lunch dessert for days when I know an after-dinner dessert is a must. I especially enjoy the pear with blackberries or the banana in a salty pretzel cone.

3. Sundaes and Cones is my favorite ice cream shop. Every flavor inspires a chorus of “oohs” and “ahhs” and I am pretty sure I have referred to whatever flavor I happen to be enjoying as “my favorite flavor of all time. In other words order a double scoop.

4. Empire Cake Boutique’s lemon square is just what it should be-crumbly shortbread-like crust cradling a moist lemon curd filling that is more tangy than sweet. I enjoy taking my square to the nearby High Line and watching the droves of tourists as they explore the wonders of warm-weather New York City.

5. City Bakery’s chocolate chip cookie with a large iced coffee is my favorite classic American afternoon snack. Salty, gooey, buttery and chocolatey meet rich coffee flavor; it’s a happy marriage indeed.

 

Leave a Reply

