Single Serving

The downside of having such a talented and diligent fiancée is that sometimes he works a little too hard. From what I gather, he is a hot commodity around the ole architecture studio hence the sadly familiar “we need you to stay late” plea we have both become rather used to.

I dined alone tonight. And I will be frank with you, I don;t like dining alone. I like discuss the meal, talk flavors, talk texture, talk spice. I like to speak between bites. Hell, I even like to steal a forkful from my dining companions plate here and there. Fact: it’s impossible to swap bites when there is only one plate. Fact again: talking to yourself is rather one-sided.

Tonight I ate in silence while reading. Normally I would encourage the sympathy, the chorus of canned “awww’s,” the tears BUT this dinner was so damn good. I feel sorry for you guys because I know you didn’t get to enjoy it. You see I only made a single serving.

Sweet Potato Sandwich For One

1 baked sweet potato
1 piece of whole grain bread, lightly toasted
3 tablespoon egg whites, pan-fried
1 tablespoon plain yogurt
2 tablespoons salsa
Handful of spinach
Handful of pickles

As the potato is baking (or microwaving, let’s be real), prepare the egg whites according to your preference. I myself enjoy a nice scrambled egg white. Spread your piece of toast with plain yogurt and salsa. Place an even layer of pickles and spinach atop the salsa. Next add the egg white. Top with the sweet potato, cut in chunks. Sprinkle with seasoning salt and basil and enjoy.

3 thoughts on “Single Serving

  1. i have never heard of a sweet potato sandwich, but may I have one please? I will never turn down a sweet potato anything.

Leave a Reply

